Dark and twisted, with just enough horror to keep you awake at night.

For those that haven’t read my previous blog posts, I will be totally transparent and say that I have known Neil for several years now. That, however, does not automatically mean that he gets a glowing book review from me.

Like a lot of things, there are always mixed emotions when you are given the opportunity to read or view a friend’s work. If it’s great, then you are fine (although your friend might doubt your sincerity) but if it’s terrible, how do you tell them without offending them?

In this case, I was extremely relieved. The Watchers is excellent, and well worth your hard earned cash to buy a copy, but allow me to explain why.

Firstly, let me say that I also had the pleasure of reading Neil’s first offering, The Ghost Hunters. It was a chilling tale of spectres, tortured souls and ragged emotions, mixed with just enough factual content to get you wondering whether things really could go ‘bump’ in the night. I gave the book 4 out of 5 because whilst I liked the characters and overall plot, I felt the narrative was a little wooly in places. I strongly felt that we hadn’t seen the best of this writer. I was right.

Whilst Neil’s distinctive style remains, the writing is tighter with a much greater sense of pace. Short snappy chapters leave us with tantalising cliff hangers and also offer additional points of view. All this adds texture and colour to the book.

I don’t want to go into too much plot detail, as to do so would undermine the book. However, I can provide a summary. The Watchers is set at the height of the Cold War and based on true events pertaining to supposed sightings of UFOS in a place known as The Broad Haven Triangle. We follow the journey of Robert Wilding, a troubled man, who is forced to return to his homeland in search of answers. Whilst initially we follow Robert on a crusade to reveal the truth about the strange ‘happenings’ and UFO sightings in the Havens, we soon discover there is much more afoot than simple lights in the sky.

Neil’s plot twists and turns, leading the reader in one direction and then cleverly shifting, revealing a truth you could not have forseen.

Just a heads up, this book is not for the faint hearted, as it makes several references to the Occult that kept me awake on a couple of occasions.

If you want a book that is going to grip you with a sense of mystery, and just the right amount of horror then you won’t be disappointed with The Watchers. Once again, Neil has expertly blended just enough fact with fiction to make you wonder whether what you are reading could be possible.

Whilst streets ahead of The Ghost Hunters, I am still going to push Neil as I feel he has more to give. I give The Watchers 4.5/5.

As for what did really happen in The Havens? You will have to buy the book to find out….

