A while ago, I wrote a post about marketing and promotion. As most of you know, my debut childrens book is due to be released this year. Therefore, I have spent quite a bit of time contemplating how I could really bring the characters to life. Thankfully, with childrens books there is an easy way to start this process. It is my great pleasure to introduce… Zak and Jen.

It is so incredible to see these characters jump off the page and into the real world. I feel like I already know so much about them. I know Zak’s inquisitive side, his thirst for knowledge and sense of exploration. I understand Jen’s feisty personality, her sarcastic sense of humour and her hunger for adventure above all things. What’s strange is that I also feel I have only just scratched the surface of their personalities.

Our goal in creating the characters in 3D was an attempt to make them as realistic as possible for the children who will ultimately read the story. We have been posting pictures of the pair on social media, visiting places and getting up to mischief. I am excited to say that Zak is off on a rather exciting journey and we are looking forward to sharing pictures from his travels with everyone.

In the meantime, I would very much like to hear your ideas for promoting children’s books. With the wealth of choice available, what do you think is the best way to stand out in the crowd?

20160108_103026

 

