zakandjen-shop-header

I have been meaning to write a post (several, in fact) for quite some time. However, as per usual, time seems to have run away with me.

2016 has been a year of extreme highs and lows. We have lost some amazing individuals, including much loved celebrities and my own grandfather. The world has also seen some interesting political decisions. I guess only time will tell with regards to how beneficial the latter will be.

For me, I will try to focus on the good and remember that 2016 saw me launch not one, but two children’s books. The highs of this year include launching Zak and Jen’s Astronomical Adventures: The Petal Planet in May, and then seeing hit the Amazon Top 100 Children’s Books Best Seller list a few months later. Another high was receiving a letter from Kensington Palace, from the personal secretary of the Duchess of Cambridge.

petal-planet-on-amazon

 

In the summer of 2016 a snap decision by Chris and I saw us decide to launch a self published Christmas themed Zak and Jen adventure. This was followed by frantic editing, illustrating and promotional work that left both of us with our heads spinning, but I think it’s fair to say, we wouldn’t have changed it!

Since launching Tinsel Town with an amazing 12 day blog tour in November, we have received incredible feedback. The book was then invited to feature in the first ever Books on the Underground Independent Authors Day and we were thrilled. On the same day, Mummy Pages, a leading parenting website released their list of 8 Awesome Books to buy children this Christmas and we were delighted to be included!

In an effort to try and give a little something back, Chris and I made the decision to donate money from the sales of Tinsel Town to both Great Ormond Street Hospital and Manchester Children’s Hospital. Both of these have personal connections for us and we hope the money will go a little way to supporting the children being cared for, and their families.

books-on-the-underground

Here is the link to Mummy Pages for the full Top 8!

http://www.mummypages.co.uk/from-tots-to-teens-8-awesome-books-to-give-kids-this-christmas

It has been an amazing year and I am so incredibly thankful for every opportunity I / we have been given. As we head to towards Christmas and the start of a whole new chapter, I want to take the time to say Thank You to everyone who has bought a copy of either book. Your support means that I am here, able to do something that I love. I would also like to say a huge thank you to the bloggers that have supported us throughout this process, what these guys do is absolutely phenomenal and I am extremely humbled by all your comments and reviews. So, thank you Linda, Joanne, Helen, Rachel, Clair, Kaisha, Adele, Janet, Christina, Caryl and Amy – you all rock!

A huge thank you to my family and friends who put up with my constant book talk and have lived this journey with me. Far too many to mention, but you know who you are! A special thank you also to my ‘Partner in book crime’ and illustrator, Chris. Thank you for putting up with my constant editing, my ‘direction’ for images and just generally sticking with me. You are so talented and it is an honour to be working with you!

Last, but by no means least, I have to say an enormous thank you to my husband. Writing can be an extremely lonely road and I am so eternally grateful for your unwavering support, especially when I doubt myself. Without you, I am not sure these books would have ever made it to the shelves.

All that is left is for me to wish everyone a very MERRY CHRISTMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR ! Be sure to make the most of every moment and treasure those around you as we look forward to 2017!

Lots of love,

Nxx

 

11-jpeg-small

