Ok, admittedly I really need to get better at posting more regularly. But in truth, life is just so hectic at the moment it’s difficult to find the time! Anyway, as those of you who follow my Zak and Jen Facebook page or my Twitter will know, the last couple of months have been rather exciting!

First thing’s first, I am delighted to share the news that Zak and Jen’s Astronomical Adventures: The Petal Planet was given the Silver Award by the Wishing Shelf Awards and Chris and I are absolutely thrilled! The children’s books in this particular competition are judged by children and teachers which makes the award all the more special. It also means that we can put the award logo on our front cover, like this….

Cover with Silver Medal

As if that wasn’t exciting enough, some of you may have seen that we were honored to partner with the amazing Virgin Atlantic to celebrate International Children’s Book day. Chris and I spent the day at Gatwick airport signing copies of The Petal Planet for families jetting off to exotic locations with Virgin, including Orlando, Barbados and St Lucia! We hope all the children enjoyed the book and it was exciting to think that copies of our story were flying all over the world. Here are some pictures from our signing, including one of us alongside the awesome Virgin Atlantic staff who were so friendly and made us feel right at home – thank you Virgin Atlantic

 

So, all in all, pretty busy!

Finally, I wanted to give you all a little heads up to a small side project I have been working on.  A series of three children’s poems (currently being illustrated) that are designed to help children deal with some of their most common fears. Specifically,  Nightmares, Monsters and the dark. My hope is that these poems can help children feel more peaceful when it comes to bedtime and might just help parents in getting their little ones off to sleep! I will share a sneak preview when I have one, but in meantime, let me know if this sounds like a good idea!

